Expression of gratitude to all nominators

Συντονιστές: e.dimopoulou, dmontesantou

Δημοσιεύσεις: 58
Εγγραφή: 15 Σεπ 2010 13:25

Expression of gratitude to all nominators

Δημοσίευση από e.dimopoulou »


On Monday, February 1, 2016, 236 academics from all over the world submitted our collective letter to the Nobel Peace Prize Committee, nominating the “Aegean Solidarity Movement ” for the award.

Among the signatories of the nomination are many distinguished academics from major international universities, such as Professors Richard Sennett, Maurice Bloch, Anthony Giddens and Nikos Mouzelis from the London School of Economics, Professor Margaret MacMillan from Oxford University, Professor Michael Herzfeld from Harvard University, Professor Molly Greene from Princeton University, Professor Katherine Fleming from New York University, the Fellows of the British Academy Emeritus Professor Marilyn Strathern from Cambridge University and Professor Joanna Bourke from Birbeck College, Professor Costas Douzinas from Birbeck College, Professor Mark Mazower from Columbia University, Professor Étienne Balibar from Université de Paris X – Nanterre, Professor Michelle Perrot from Université Paris 7-Diderot (France); as well as distinguished members of the Greek academia, such as Nikiforos Diamadouros, member of the Academy of Athens and ex European Ombudsman Professor, the Rector of the University of the Aegean Professor Stefanos Gritzalis, Emeritus Professors Anna Frangoudaki, Kostas Gavroglu, Antonis Liakos and Konstantinos Tsoukalas from the University of Athens.

The nomination is also supported by two Nobel Laureates, Archibishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu and the Economist Sir Christopher Pissaridis; as well as by 700,000 citizens, who provided their signature through an on-line petition created by the global-citizens movement Avaaz.

The “Aegean Solidarity Movement” is an umbrella term that includes and captures:
a) Seventeen (17) exclusively local migrant/refugee-relief groups formed by anonymous volunteers from the Aegean islands of Chios, Crete, Kalymnos, Kos, Leros, Lesvos, Rhodes, Samos, Symi, Tilos and from Eidomeni with the participation also of many foreigners.
b) The many largely-anonymous, actors who have responded to the crisis with empathy and self-sacrifice. Three everyday citizens, all of whom have been part of this effort for many years, are nominated symbolically to represent the many: fishermen, such as Mr Thanasis Marmarinos from Lesvos, who have saved hundreds of lives in sea-rescue operations; local women, such as Mrs Aimilia (Militsa) Kamvisi, who nurture refugee children as if they were her own; and foreign volunteers, such as Madelena Grossman, who have been tirelessly working in the islands for many years. By nominating them, we nominate each and every one of the men and women who have helped the displaced with humility and self-sacrifice.
The organization of local islanders in the face of the worst humanitarian crisis since WWII has been unprecedented. It constitutes a unique example of spontaneous group mobilizations that have energized and engaged our global community.

We have arrived at a moment in history that begs for an urgent answer to the question of our collective future in Europe, as well as in the rest of the world. Under the pressure of the refugee crisis, xenophobia and isolationism thrive. In violation of international human rights agreements for the protection of refugees and asylum seekers—and in blind disregard of historical precedent—some try to normalize the idea of raising fences at the expense of dignity or very life of millions of war victims.

The Aegean Solidarity Movement, by contrast, forms a bright example of possibility for peace. The anonymous volunteers of the Greek islands are leading the way by example. Hopefully, the rest of humanity will follow.

We wish to thank most heartily both the international academic community and individual citizens for understanding the urgency of this call for peace in the Eastern Mediterranean; and for nominating ASM.

We invite the Committee to embrace our message and to award the ideals of empathy and solidarity, as reflected in the example of the Aegean islands, a Nobel Peace Prize.​​

Δ η μ ο π ο ύ λ ο υ Έ φ η
ΠΜΣ «Κοινωνική & Ιστορική Ανθρωπολογία»
ΠΜΣ «Φύλο, Πολιτισμός και Κοινωνία»
ΠΜΣ "Κρίση και Ιστορική Αλλαγή"

Κοινωνικής Ανθρωπολογίας & Ιστορίας


Κτήριο Διοίκησης
Λόφος Πανεπιστημίου
81100 Μυτιλήνη


Επιστροφή στο “ΠΜΣ - Κοινωνική και Ιστορική Ανθρωπολογία”